Home > Geographic Regions > North-East Region

North-East Region

The North-East Region is composed of the following states: Maranhao, Piaui, Ceara, Rio Grande do Norte, Paraiba, Pernambuco, Alagoas, Sergipe and Bahia. It represents 18.26% of the Brazilian territory.

The North-East is famous for its hot weather, beautiful beaches, rich African and African mix with European cultures, and to be the birthplace of the country. A DNA study, with nearly over a 1000 samples from all over the North-Eastern region, (whites, Caboclos, pardos, blacks and indigenous people), found out a major European contribution, mainly from Portuguese, Spanish (mainly from Galicia, the Basque Country), French, Dutch/Flemish, German, Swiss, Italian, minority Greek, Scandinavian, British and Irish followed by a high West-African contribution, Indigenous/Native American and Asian (include Mid East majority from Libanon and Syria) component. Study showed that Brazilians from that region are more homogeneous than previously thought by some based on the census alone. Most of the population lives in the urban area, although about 15 million people lives in the semi-arid vast hinterlands that Lusitanian and mixed breed explorers (the Bandeirantes) encountered, the sertao. The people in the sertao are also called sertanejos, Brazilian North-Eastern Cowboys.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s